Never Failes

2004-03-24 7:08 p.m.
It never fails... especially around spring time.

I hook up with a few guys to get something together... One of the guys brings a girl who's down for the project. Nothin but eyes and energy between me and her throughout the meeting.

It happened in ninety whatever when Me, Sh, Sa, and C got together to form the illest hip hop crew of all times. We all had at least 2 elements under our belt and were really good with at least one. DJ, MC, BBoy, Graff Artist. And then Sa brought Sy as a poet, since I was spinning poetry sessions back then, he figured she'd fit into the entorage well.

I'd been single for a month at the time, and the eyes and energy was there. A week later we're spending mad time, two weeks later we're going every which way in every place we can find. Woulda been sooner, but "I takes my time". A week after that I realize why PR women and me just plain don't work.

A couple years later, it happens again. The next year, again. In 2002, the girl I messed around with? The girl in the group of guys. we were all hanging out 3 or 4 times a week, and same deal. Of course if I were a lil more sane at the time that one wouldn't have gone down, but that's all history now regardless.

And last Saturday... we're getting a production crew together. Time to throw some parties together and make some shit happen. Coming together actaully made me feel a lil old since the last time I was throwing parties it was 2 - 4 parties a week and that was from 13 - 17, as in about 10 years ago.

Feelin ooooolld.

So I'm exhausted and sitting through the meeting listening to everyone, giving my own input, trying to figure out if i want to dedicate to this and see how dedicated everyone else is. I know my record with such circles... 3 dudes and one girl. Ok, no strange attentions.

So when I speak up and start contributing some shit, I glance in her direction (I try to always look people in the eye when I talk to them intently) as I'm laying things out with everyone. And damnit if there's somethin there. I tried to ignore it, but it was fuckin there. So now I'm hooked. Gotta glance over once in a while cuz that shit is incontrollable.

So we said peace and I figured that since i've been socially inept lately, that I was just blowing shit up. T. gets home and hits me up. 'Yo, ol girl wouldn't shut up about you, blah blah blah. You should give it to her, etc, etc..'

Well damn. Glad I'm a lil more on top of my shit this time around. Nothin gonna happen. Nothin wrong with some attraction. Fuck it.. Nothin wrong with a new friend.

I'm sure that shit will pretty much die down when she knows im unintersted for the most part and especially when she eventually meets my girl, so no worries, no problems.

Speaking of new friends, I don't think ol' girl's gonna call back. At least no time soon. Pretty disappointing cuz she was really dope. Well, at least I got my head straight. I hate missing good opportunities.

I'm a lil nervous at the moment, even though I'm not showin that for shit. Just wrote a proposal for 40k for a new client. Man, if I can pull 40k for 2 months work.. ooh ooh ooh. I'm going shoppin like a motha fucker. Get rid of all this 6 year old gear. Probably go visit B. in Brasil. He just hit me up, talking about puttin out a new album out there and shit. I gotta go celebrate with him.

Ooh ooh ooh.. Good times!!!

Aiight, gonna go meet some heads for a few drinks.