Single In NY

2006-11-04 12:22 p.m.
I'm not the dating type. Though I seem to be catching on quickly. At the very least, the whole single-in-new-york thing is just plain fun. I'm actually glad I waited until now for this. A few bucks in my pocket and some nice clothes and an arrogant modesty of sorts seem to go a long way.

I'm enjoying it. I enjoy walking up to miscellaneous women and just starting conversation. I've been watching guys do it for years in complete awe. How the hell do they do that? How do they know what to say?! I've asked friends who have always had a knack.

"well, you just walk up and start talking."

I've done that thousands of times. It never worked. Nobody ever told me there was a way to carry myself in order to pull it off. And that's it. Well dressed. Friendly and confident. Look them right in the eye. Big smile. Step forward and say hello. And it all comes together.

Last night, before I met up with a bunch of people I stopped at the smoking bar. The beautiful Romanian girl was serving and remembered me from a couple nights prior. The goofy fuckers to my left were jabbering about who-gives-a-fuck and after noticing no promising prospects on my side of the bar, I carried on with her. Bought her a shot, got the giggles out a bit and noticed to my left - their conversation stopped. They wanted to see how i was pulling this off. I'd been them so often (though not as obvious). What could I possibly say to them? Just keep it moving. Don't fuck up your game to impress or discourage. Fuck 'em.

So after the conversation with ms. Romania, I went to meet up with a bunch of heads at some bullshit 80's club that I absolutely refuse to return to. I stood outside while they figured thing out. I'd made up my mind, I was going back to the hip-hop bar, just waiting for them to figure thier shit out. To my left I see two incredibly cute blonde girls (did I mention I'm generally not into blondes?) speaking some jibberish...

"Pardon me, but what was all that jibberish?"

"Eet was Feenish"

"Ah, so you're both from Finland or just studying miscellaneous languages?"

the giggle and nod.

"and how long in New York?"

"I'm here one year." "Me too"

"And you came together?"

Shared glance, giggle "No, we met here"

"Well, I'm obviously going to have to buy both of you drinks some time in the future. But not now as it's cold out here, and this place is getting on my nerves."

Got the cuter one's number, grabbed a cab with TBX and LK and on to the next spot.

$5 cover at the hip-hop bar that I'd already been in earlier for free. fuck that. Grabbed a slice, LK was tired and went off in a cab, TBX out of dough from paying the cover at the bullshit 80's spot that I refuse to return to. Offered one and in we go. ms. romania was gone.

I look to my left and we have a fairly attractive woman. Immediate introduction. Turns out she's in town as her sister is part of the original cast for a well known broadway show that I'd absolutely enjoyed at some point. I hadn't seen the original cast and always wanted to...

Her husband shows. I introduce myself immediately, and the conversation continues. He's into IT, works for himself, getting nickel and dimed to death. This is my specialty (dealing with, not fucking over). I take over and give him business advice that could very well solve all his money problems. He knew it. It was good sounds advice by some well dressed drunk and he was all about it.

I was already hammered by this point - Hammered - and every time I looked down, TBX and I had another round waiting. Free drinks for 2 hours as I yammered on about how to make his business more successful and efficient. Gave them my number and email and the wife is going to get me 6 incredibly good tickets to the show for my birthday.

And speaking of solid advice as currency, on the way to Venice, I did the same for my cab driver who's running his own trucking business. 30 minutes of business and markerting advice for his small company and he took my number down and ate the price of the trip to JFK.

Things are good. I'm a bit bummed about that girl dropping off the face of the planet, but it's her loss. I mean, it's not terrible. She was pretentious and self-centered, which I was purposefully overlooking. But still... a few dates become expensive in time, money and hope.

Ah yes... I may have mentioned that I recently changed my photo on miscellaneous dating sites and suddenly get all sorts of attention. Well ,I'd bee nignoring it, and I'm still not big on the idea, but what the hell. Met RS, the jeweler, a couple nights ago. No attraction, but she's very cool. Intelligent, fun, drinks, solid conversation, and I've brought her into the world of scotch. Always good to meet new people. Especially to help forget about the silly old ones.

Oh shit... also. Talked to my landlord. They're giving me a whole new kitchen, which is going to go very well with my whole new living room. It'll be so nice to have a nice place.

Anyways - my 28th birthday tomorrow. My favorite holiday of the year. Happy happy.