Snow

2005-01-23 8:13 a.m.
Yesterday was so incredibly dope. And there�s so many reasons it shouldn�t have been, but the only complaints were from my girl, and I can handle her bullshit just fine.

So after planning for a couple weeks, the number of heads to come snowboarding dwindled from 15 � 20 down to 10. Then A and M found an apartment and needed their loot. Down to 8. Then two were having some marital issues, so they were an if, then they decided if it was gonna snow hard then no. So six.

And the perfect group of 6. My boy R, My boy A their girls and my girl. I rented an Explorer for the trip, and then reserved one for next Saturday. Packed up the ride then trekked out to pick everyone up. Once all six were in, I told everyone�

�It�s gonna be somewhere between 1 and 5 degrees today and by 4 pm (when the mountain closes) a half a foot of snow will have fallen. So if any one wants to back out, I reserved a truck for next weekend too.�

All in. Solid.

So we broke, grabbed breakfast and set out for 3 hours to the mountain. Rog�s girl E had her own skis, the rest of us were renting. The guys grabbed snowboards and the women rented skis. We were superiorly bundled. I was outside sans jacket or anything most of the time and could hardly tell it was less than summer time (besides the snow).

Besides E and A (sorta), nobody knew what the hell they were doing. We spent about 4 minutes figuring it out, then we were on a ski lift. As soon as I slid off the lift, I made a good ten feet and fell straight back. But as soon as I hit the slope, I was all pro. Stopped right. Tried again, stopped ok. From that point on every time I tried to turn, stop, slow down, or think dirty thoughts I would suddenly become a huge ball of snow and board.

And I mean I would flip hard. At least a good two rolls every time. Board in the air then under me, although my final position was always decent. Flat on my back with the bottom of the board facing the bottom of the mountain. Perfect position to get back up.

After one round on the lil slope, I needed a break. I done left everyone at the top of the hill (not on purpose, I was having control issues). I was wheezing and thirsty as shit. By then I�d sweated at least half my body weight into my sweat wicking thermals. I guzzled some water, put my shit back on and waited at the bottom of the hill.

A�s girl L was catching on pretty well. R was rocking shit, but he�s a well known skateboarder (from waaay back), so he was expected to catch on quick. My girl was demolished. She fucked up her knees and she�s not the type to take a bad fall and laugh it off. I sat with her, talked het through it and she was ok. But there was no talking her back out.

So she went to the car, and I called A. We met at the lift up we went. The second time down, I wasn�t doing to great but I was having a fucking blast. One of my bindings snapped on my right foot. Which means I could only bind the top half. Which means trying to maintain ANY control over the board, considering my SERIOUS lack of skill was impossible.

I mean, I tried. But I was falling hard with a lot of flipping and sliding the rest of the way down. By the time I was tat the bottom, I was in pain, but ready to rock some more. It was about 1:15, so I was considering running to the store to replace the binding (probably woulda been about 20 minutes). But then my girl called from the truck, crying. Moreso for attention, I think, although I know her knees were still hurting a bit.

I looked outside and noticed that it was finally snowing. And I mean like 10 feet visibility snowing. Seemed like a good time to go again, but I knew time was short. A and L just came in out of breath to grab some hot chocolate and offered that it might be time to head back. Well, that�s three heads ready to go, and I�m technically disabled.

Turns out R and E didn�t have their phones on. We decided to take the rentals back while we awaited for a call or whatever. We were sure they�d meet us back at the drop off eventually. As soon as we got back to the mountain, R was calling from a pay phone. Luckily he had my biz card on him.

So that adventure was over. R and I were in serious pain. My girl�s knees we healed, but her shins were a bit messed up cuz it turned out her ski boots were a lil too tight on her.

Now off into about 6 � 8 inches of snow. Nothing plowed. Windy narrow roads. And I�m the only one who can drive it. R and E can drive, but not through this. Nobody else has a license (Damned New Yorkers). I wasn�t worried, as I�ve driven through worse with bald tires and no heat in my old 88 sunbird waay back in the day. And wit hthe truck, the weight and the 4WD, I was gravy. Not a single problem and the car never slid unless I made it skid out of boredom.

The hard part was staying alert. It�s bad enough driving long distance at night, Watching the incoming glowing lines and the tail lights ahead of you will trance you into mini-naps, which you REALLY don�t need. Well now, I have the same thing, but about a foot of unplowed snow and cars skidding every which way all around me. But all that white, with the tail lights (sometimes � or just near complete darkness others) does quite a bit to making the eyes heavy. I don�t think I�ve ever guzzled so much soda and redbull I none sitting in my life.

But that was it. I got everyone home, came to my place, returned a couple calls and crashed hard.

I think the best part of it all was that regardless of the expense, the weather, the crazy driving conditions, everyone was down. All the way. No complaints. No bullshit. Just down. And we all had an incredible time.

And once my left shoulder, left butt cheek and left palm heals, I think I�ll have to go get my ass kicked on some miscellaneous mountain with them again.