Elections and Commercial Radio

2000-11-10 13:37:30
Thanks for the Birthday Props, La-La... And a big MIDDLE FINGER to this whole presidential bullshit...

Peace to everyone who is talking shit about who won considering nobody won yet. Peace to all the newspapers who fucked up. Peace to The news reports that fucked up. Peace to Gore for conceding a couple weeks too early.. Peace to La-La for getting her panties in a bunch when the whole shit ain't over yet.

I don't think it matters who wins. Gore wins, and we hopefully continue where Clinton left off. I loved that guy. He seemed like the kinda guy I could sit and smoke a B with or have a drink with, or just bullshit over a 4am breakfast. And anyone I'm willing to do that with is good people to me and deserves to run a country. I hate when the rule makers and pocket shakers act above me and I can't relate to them.

If Bush wins, the businesses gey paid, the workers lose jobs, and we all get to sharpen our knives and get mad for a change. I haven't been mad in a while. I'm not sure if it's because I like our country's leader or if I'm just getting old, but I would love to get into a couple riots again or something. I miss the energy involved in busting windows, flipping cars, screaming in the faces of the swine, and picking up the cute revolutionary women. I haven't gone through that shit since the last time the Bulls won the whole shit... Oh and the Stop police brutality joint in Chi. hmm... and the one here in NY but that was pretty damn peaceful.

Fuck radio stations and FUCK their lack of variety. I remember at one point in time, I would flip on the radio and within an hour hear some new shit from Snoop, followed by some shit off of Illmatic, fillowed by something by Tribe, then a joint by KRS-One, then Pete Rock and CL Smoothe, then back to liek dre or something. That was when it felt good to be hip hop.

You know back when you were proud to put on a mix tape cuz of the variey and all the color in the music. The proudness in the stories and the vibe. The good and the bad was all knowledgeable whether it be Gin and Juice, or AmeriKKK's most wanted, or My Philosophy there was a general positivity behind it all that went beyond the paycheck. Now, I'm embarrased of some of the shit I hear on the radio. And fuck hearing anything BESIDES grunting dogs screaming about bitches and blood. I mean it's straight music, but it's not ALL i want to hear.

I know, I can flip my Reverend Al Green, or Old Run DMC, or some Miles or Coletrane or Theloneous, or some Digable, or some 3rd Bass, or Guns & Roses, or some Metallica, or some De La... but I've bumped all these plenty of times. When I dont want to fuck with Shuffle / Repeat or flipping records every 5 minutes, I want to just bump a variety oif good shit. But intstead, Out comes Fuckhead Flex screaming his squeaky voice off, jocking everybody with a deal as a political pillow biter and playing what sounds like a huge compilation from a group of sextuplets. No originality, or diversity of style, nothing but good beats and elementary rhymes with the same subject matter.

What the fuck do i do? write a letter to some whiteboy CEO who collects checks for a good little giggle? Start a coalition and waste plenty of people's time trying to fight a paper based industry? I'm not sure yet.. but something's gotta go down...

Fuck RADIO!!! Fuck Republicans!!! Fuck this boring job!!! And a big hug to all 3 of my readers. I hope you have an amazing weekend...

Peace